Return to (DfE) Department of Education

Ministerial Team

The Department for Education (DfE) is a department of the UK government responsible for issues affecting people in England up to the age of 19, including child protection and education.

A Department for Education previously existed between 1992, when the Department of Education and Science was renamed, and 1995 when it was merged with the Department for Employment to become the Department for Education and Employment.


The Department for Education’s Ministers are as follows: [3]

Minister Rank Portfolio
  The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP Secretary of State and Conservative Member of Parliament for Surrey Heath Overall responsibility
  David Laws MP Minister of State and Liberal Democrat Member of Parliament for Yeovil Schools [4]
  Edward Timpson MP Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State and Conservative Member of Parliament for Crewe & Nantwich Children’s minister with responsibility for adoption and children in care
  Matthew Hancock MP Parliamentary Under Secretary of State and Conservative Member of Parliament for West Suffolk Further education, skills and lifelong learning (Departments for Business, Innovation and Skills and Education)
  Elizabeth Truss MP Parliamentary Under Secretary of State and Conservative Member of Parliament for South West Norfolk Early years’ education

Lord Nash

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Schools and Government Spokesperson Schools (including academies)
Key   Conservative
  Liberal Democrat

Matthew Hancock works jointly between the department and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.[5]


As of 15 March 2012 the board:[6]

  • Permanent Secretary – Chris Wormald
  • Director-General for Children, Young People and Families – Tom Jeffery
  • Acting Director-General for Infrastructure and Funding – Andrew McCully
  • Acting Director General for Education Standards – Stephen Meek
  • Director Finance and commercial Group – Simon Judge
  • Lead Non Executive Board member – Paul Marshall

  • Non Executive Director Board Member – Theodore Agnew

  • Chief Executive of Education Funding Agency – Peter Lauener

  • Non Executive Board Member – Dame Sue John

  • Director of Strategy, Performance, and Private Office Group – Hilary Spencer
  • Director of People and Change Group – Janette Durbin

Non-Executive Board members:[7]


As of 15 March 2012, the DfE has five main sites:[8]

  • Castle View House, Runcorn
  • 2 St Paul’s Place, Sheffield
  • Mowden Hall, Darlington
  • Sanctuary Buildings, London
  • Standards and Testing Agency, Coventry


Education, youth and children’s policy is devolved elsewhere in the UK. The department’s main devolved counterparts are as follows:


Northern Ireland



External links


United Kingdom  Departments of Her Majesty’s Government of the United Kingdom


Royal Coat of Arms of the United Kingdom (HM Government).svg

Ministerial departments

Attorney General’s Office · Cabinet Office · Department for Business, Innovation and Skills · Department for Communities and Local Government · Department for Culture, Media and Sport · Department for Education · Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs · Department for International Development · Department for Transport · Department for Work and Pensions · Department of Energy and Climate Change · Department of Health · Foreign and Commonwealth Office · Government Equalities Office · Her Majesty’s Treasury · Home Office  · Ministry of Defence · Ministry of Justice · Northern Ireland Office · Office of the Advocate General for Scotland · Office of the Leader of the House of Commons · Office of the Leader of the House of Lords · Scotland Office · Wales Office

Non-Ministerial departments

Charity Commission for England and Wales · Commissioners for the Reduction of the National Debt · Crown Estate · Crown Prosecution Service · Food Standards Agency · Forestry Commission · Government Actuary’s Department · Her Majesty’s Land Registry · Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs · Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills · Office of Fair Trading · Office of Gas and Electricity Markets · Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation · Office of Rail Regulation · Office of the Parliamentary Counsel · Ordnance Survey · Public Works Loan Board · Serious Fraud Office · The National Archives · Treasury Solicitor’s Department · UK Statistics Authority ·  UK Trade & Investment · Water Services Regulation Authority

Permanent link to this article: