Apply to be a councillor

There are 22 unitary authorities (county and county borough councils) that deliver a wide range of services.

Some, for example education, must be made available under UK and Welsh law; others are provided at the discretion of individual authorities. Typical services include:

  • trading standards
  • libraries, leisure and tourism
  • environmental health, refuse and recycling
  • transport and highways
  • housing
  • social services.

All local authorities are democratically accountable through elections held every 4 years. They have a cabinet-style executive with the dominant political group or coalition making decisions under the scrutiny of the council as a whole.

The 22 unitary authorities are (external links):

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council
Bridgend County Borough Council
Caerphilly County Borough Council
Cardiff Council
Carmarthenshire County Council
Ceredigion County Council
Conwy County Borough Council
Denbighshire County Council
Flintshire County Council
Gwynedd Council
Isle of Anglesey County Council
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council
Monmouthshire County Council
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council
Newport City Council
Pembrokeshire County Council
Powys County Council
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
City and County of Swansea
Torfaen County Borough Council
Vale of Glamorgan Council
Wrexham County Borough Council


Permanent link to this article: